The coronavirus has ushered in a unique opportunity for Granby residents—preserving memory of the COVID-19 pandemic experience for future generations. The Salmon Brook Historical Society and the Granby Public Library are working together to gather stories about how the pandemic has affected life.
A hundred years ago, Granby had the reputation of having the best 4th of July in the Farmington Valley. The town was also famous (or infamous) for the noise and mayhem produced by the “boys” of Granby.
We are all experiencing an unprecedented situation in our lives. The Salmon Brook Historical Society and the Granby Public Library are working together to gather stories about the COVID-19 experience for future generations.
Arthur E. Allen of West Hartford bought the North Granby cider mill property in 1919. One hundred years later the roof and upper floor of the old mill collapsed and the south wall of the building fell down.
A mysterious gravestone was found face down in a corner of the Cooley Cemetery on East Street in spring 2018. It was discovered by Cheryl and Chris Klemmer when they stopped to take a picture of the new cemetery sign.
Carol Laun, Archivist, Salmon Brook Historical Society |
In the beginning, the church was in Simsbury, and the people of Salmon Brook had to travel this distance on foot or horseback. The roads were mere tracks through the wilderness; mud, dust or snow, according to the season.