Democratic candidates

Print More

I am excited to endorse the incredible slate of candidates from the Granby Democratic Town Committee for municipal elections on Nov. 2. We have EIGHT candidates running in competitive races for three boards: Board of Selectmen, Board of Education and Board of Finance.

For the Board of Selectmen, Val Eastwood is an experienced First Selectwoman candidate who has already served Granby for many years. Val worked hard to get the Bear Feeding Ordinance passed over the summer and will bring her professional knowledge, skills and enthusiasm to the position of First Selectwoman. We are also endorsing Sally King (incumbent) and local business owner Fred Moffa for the Board of Selectman. Each are well-known, involved and experienced volunteers in Granby who will serve us well on the Board.

For the Board of Finance, the Granby Democrats are putting forward Jenny Emery, Audrey Lampert and Jim Lofink. These three bring a wealth of financial expertise, a strong commitment to Granby and a desire to improve Granby’s financial security for the long term.

For the Board of Education, the Granby Democrats nominated Monica Logan and Whitney Sanzo. They are raising their kids in Granby. As parents in the school system, they understand the need to keep our schools safe, inclusive and give all kids an excellent education whatever their path in life. They will bring their professional skills and their compassion to the BOE and help create positive change.

Our Democratic candidates have already served our community in many ways: serving on local boards, volunteering in youth organizations and actively working to improve our community. Visit the Granby Democrats Facebook page for more information on the candidates, how you can meet them and ways to support their campaigns.

Granby is incredibly lucky to have these experienced and engaged residents stepping up to run for office. Please vote Row A on Nov. 2, for our families, farms, businesses and our remarkable town.

Lynn Guelzow

Chair, Granby Democratic Town Committee