Granby wins 2018 Democracy Cup

Print More

Photo by Rita Isaacson

From l.: Sen. Kevin Witkos, former registrar Sarah Thrall, registrar Laura Wolfe, Secretary of State Denise Merrill and First Selectman Scott Kuhnly.

For the Nov. 6 Gubernatorial election, the town of Granby won the medium-sized town award for the highest voter turnout in the state. Granby had a 76.97 percent turnout: 5,894 of 7,675 registered voters. Secretary of State Denise Merrill presented the massive two-and-a-half-foot silver trophy to registrar Laura Wolfe and former registrar Sarah Thrall at the Board of Selectman meeting on March 4. The trophy was created by the East Haddam Civic Association to recognize outstanding voter participation and will stay in Granby for two years until the next federal election. The trophy is awarded biennially to four towns based on four population categories: small town, medium town, large town and city.