Granby Girl Scout Troop #66007 earns Bronze Award

Print More

Submitted photos

Bronze Group 1 (from l:) Sydney Henry, Mrs. Martin, Miss Kamis, Lindsey Puglise, Allison Davis, Annie Baldwin, and Principal Dr. Bailey.

Girl Scout Troop 66007 of Granby has earned the Bronze Award, the highest award that Girl Scout Juniors (grades 4-5) can earn. To earn the award, the troop split into two groups and worked on different projects. Each group took multiple sessions to come up with a plan. They discussed their goals, what they wanted to learn, what supplies they would need, and who they would ask for help.

Group one chose to help other students at the Wells Road School Homework Club. In order to do so, the girls had to organize a plan and meet with the school principal. They set up a rotating schedule for two girls to attend Homework Club each week. They also prepared for their project by meeting with a teacher who discussed different teaching methods and the importance of always being positive and encouraging others. Finally, they created educational games that were left at the school to make learning fun for future students. The games included math, spelling, social studies, and science questions.

Group two chose to educate others about protecting our forests and their inhabitants thru Leave No Trace. The girls researched the Seven Principles of Leave No Trace and designed games and educational materials to make learning about sustainable minimum-impact practices fun. The project culminated with a booth at Mall Madness, held at the Enfield Mall on March 3. Visitors to the booth learned about ways to reduce environmental impact and make sound choices in the outdoors.

The Girl Scout Bronze Award is given to girls who complete a Take Action project. Girls identify a community issue and develop and implement a project that addresses the issue’s root cause. Girls may earn the Bronze Award as a group and their project may be inside or outside of the Girl Scout community. For more information about the Bronze Award or about any of the highest awards in Girl Scouting, visit

Bronze Group 2 (from l:) Nairobi Mouning, Olivia Teclaw, Izabella Therion, Lillie Zinck, Adelyn Sanzo, and Leah Silverman