Awards given at annual Land Trust Art Show

Print More
By Trish Percival

Each November since 2005, the Granby Land Trust and the Granby Artists Association have sponsored a juried art show. Thanks to the incredible generosity of the GLT’s friends, the show now offers a remarkable $5,000 in award money and the event has become something the community looks forward to each fall. This year, 178 pieces of original artwork were submitted; just 77 were selected to be in the show. Will Lustenader, an accomplished artist who teaches at Choate Rosemary Hall in Wallingford, juried this year’s show.
The theme this year was Celebrating New England’s Natural Beauty, and all artwork had to reflect this theme. The winner of the 2016 show’s top prize – the Don and Marty Wilmot Award – was Kate Tortland, for her painting Holcomb Overlook. Alexander Anisimov was awarded the show’s second place prize, the Granby Land Trust Award, for his painting titled Mountain Top.



Fourteen additional prizes were awarded as follows: Catherine Elliott won the Sandy and Dave Schupp Award for Morning Paint. Bill Hanson won the Austin J. McNey Memorial Award given by Karen, Scott and Patrick McNey for Salmon Brook, East Branch. Carole Hartwell won the Stephen Brown Memorial Award for Mary Edwards’ Mountain. The Ray Betts Award, given by Carol and Greg Reid, went to Bill Manocchi for Grey Barn. Rick Daskam won the Granby Artists Association Award for Phillips Farm. Douglas Williams won the Helen and Al Wilke Award for A New Day. Del-Bourree Bach won the Mildred Dewey Award, given by Jenny and Dave Emery, for A Winter’s Tail


Jim Laurino won the Matthew K. Orluk Award, given by Trish Percival and Rick Orluk, for Creamery Hill Horse Barn. Michael Patnode won the Olof Stevenson Award, given by Jamie Gamble, for A Fall Day. Alan Izatt won the Tudor and Laura Holcomb Award, given by Nannie and Put Brown, for Lampson Brook Farm. The William Stewart Award, given by Dave and Judy Russell, went to Margot Callahan for August Afternoon. Kristen Cormier won the Salmon Brook Watershed Association Award for Reflection #6. On November 27, the People’s Choice Award, given by Lost Acres Vineyard, will be decided, based on votes submitted by visitors to the vineyard.


The Land Trust is grateful to Mark Wetzel and Fiduciary Investment Advisors, LLC and Ted Cormier and ALIRT Insurance Research, LLC for their ongoing, loyal support of the show. In addition, the Land Trust thanks event co-chairs Els Fonteyne and Laurie Schock for organizing the show’s Opening Night; Bill Simpson and Laura Eden for their wise counsel, advice and hard work, and for organizing the show’s Art Talk; and Michelle Niedermeyer and Kevin Riggott of Lost Acres Vineyard for hosting the show. Lastly, the GLT thanks Tony Capelli for his beautiful floral arrangements and Karen Rutigliano for creating delectable appetizers for Opening Night.