Print More

December 4, 2023

Present: Mark Fiorentino, Mark Neumann, Kelly Rome, Frederick Moffa, Margaret Chapple, Town Clerk Scott Nolan, Finance Director Kimi Cheng, student liaison Charles Orluk.


The board appointed Margaret Jabaily (D) to the Granby Planning and Zoning Commission as an alternate for a term beginning immediately and ending Nov. 18, 2025, as recommended by the Democratic Town Committee.

Budget Planning for 2024-25

Fiorentino kicked off the budget planning process with a Plus-One Budget, a high-level view of big-ticket items such as contractual obligations, anticipated benefits and insurance costs, utilities, and other mandated expenses. Recommendations were for one full-time department of public works maintainer, a full-time director of human resources and an in-house IT administrator. Tipping fees are significantly reduced, but waste collection fees were increased.

Agreement with Granby Education Association

The board of education has approved an Agreement Between the Granby Board of Education and the Granby Education Association, effective July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2027. The agreement was filed with the town clerk on Dec. 4. The board of selectmen has three options: To reject, and the parties would commence arbitration within five days; to bring the issue to a Town Meeting, or to take no action and the agreement would be binding within 30 days from its filing.

Use of ARPA funds

The board authorized the additional allocation of $17,893.18 from ARPA funds to complete phase 1 of the technology infrastructure project approved in September 2022, and $13,000 from ARPA funds to purchase AEDs (defibrillators) and related equipment for town buildings.

December 18, 2023

Present: Mark Fiorentino, Mark Neumann, Kelly Rome, Frederick Moffa, Margaret Chapple, Town Clerk Scott Nolan, Finance Director Kimi Cheng, student liaisons Charles Orluk and  Ben Lavigne, Lost Acres Fire Department Chief John Horr, Jr., Police Chief Scott Sansom.

Consideration and Action to Award Contract to Evaluate Bids for Emergency Communication System

The radio committee that has been charged with evaluating the Town’s first responder radio system. It recommends that the board sign a contract with Federal Engineering for a price not to exceed $20,000, to assist in evaluating project bids and negotiating a contract with the successful bidders. The contract would be subject to terms mutually acceptable to the town and Federal Engineering. The committee recommends using ARPA funds to pay the cost.

Consideration and Acceptance of a Memo of Understanding Between the Board of Selectmen and the Granby School District to Consolidate IT Operations

Fiorentino told members that work to transition from an outside service provider to managing IT resources/operations in-house has produced a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Granby School District to create a single team to oversee the operations of both the town and the school district. He explained that benefits include reducing inefficiencies and redundancy; improving security and emergency functions; standardizing technology; providing cooperative operating and purchasing processes and providing the potential for short and long-term cost savings.

The proposal to enter into the MOU passed by a unanimous voice vote (5/0/0).

January 2, 2024

Present: Mark Fiorentino, Mark Neumann, Kelly Rome, Frederick Moffa (via Zoom), Margaret Chapple, Town Clerk Scott Nolan, student liaisons Charles Orluk and Ben LaVigne


The Democratic Town Committee and the Republican Town Committee submitted recommendations to reappoint members to various boards and commissions.


The following reappointments were made: Judith H. Jones (U) to the Commission on Aging; David Desiderato (D) and  Zachary R. Donais (D) to the Conservation Commission; Martin F. Schwager (R), Matthew L. Brady (D) and Anna K. Sogliuzzo (D) to the Development Commission; Frederic B. Jones (R), John L. Laudati (D ) and Susan K. Okie (R) to the Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission; Judith C. Guarco (R), Kristal A. Fiorentino (R),Hillary R. Peterson (R) and Catherine D. Watso (U) to the Library Board; Jennifer P. Bilodeau (R), Greg K. Dion (R), Sheryl Litchfield (R) and Stephen M. Simard (D) to the Park & Recreation Board.

The BOS also reappointed Town Treasurer John Adams and the Town Attorney Rich Roberts of Halloran Sage.

Call for Three Board Meeting

Each year the Board of Selectmen calls for a Three Board Meeting to review the “Plus One” budget with the Board of Selectmen, Board of Education, and the Board of Finance. The board approved holding the Three Board meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 16, 2024, at 7 p.m. in the Town Hall Meeting Room.*

*Meeting postponed due to weather conditions

Extending Hours Polls are Open for Budget Referendum

Fiorentino informed members that Connecticut General Statutes Section 7-9b requires that, for budget referendum, polls are open from noon to 8 p.m. The statute permits the Boards of Selectmen to allow polls to open at an earlier hour, but no earlier than 6 a.m. Fiorentino recommended the Board consider setting the polling hours from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., which would be more consistent with other municipal elections and increase the opportunity for citizens to vote on the budget. The motion to adopt the change passed by a unanimous voice vote.